Welcome!

If you’re reading this, it’s probably because you’re following a link from my Facebook or Twitter and you probably know me and what I’m doing this next year and there is very little need for explanation. If that’s not the case, let me give you the skinny about why this blog exists.

I’m a 20 year old student at the University of Mississippi. I’ve lived in MS my entire life (minus when I was too young to remember) and the one word that comes to mind when I think of MS and 99% of the people in it is “complacency.” We’re not happy here, we’re content. We think “eh, I’m safe, this is what I know, I think I’ll stay” and then we get stuck. 

I can’t do that. I’m not here for complacency. I have had a burning desire to travel ever since I can remember. My dad always took me on trips during every single break from school I had. I love seeing new places, meeting new people and experiencing things I could never dream of in the Middle-of-Nowhere, Mississippi. 

So, last fall, a thought crept in my head. Nobody placed it there, I didn’t put a lot of thought into it at first, it just came to me one day: I’m going to study abroad. I began saying it to people every where I went. “Where are you going?” “I don’t know yet.” “How long are you staying?” “I don’t know yet.” All I knew was that I was going, no matter what it took.

Fast forward to April of this year and I’m at my bank wiring money to the American College of Thessaloniki for my housing deposit. 

On August 31 I will be boarding a plane to London to spend two weeks there on my own before flying to Thessaloniki, where I will stay until June 2014. I have no idea what the next year has in store for me, but I hope to keep track of it all here. 

Where am I now in the planning process? Waiting, waiting, waiting. Waiting on my background check to return from the FBI so I can apply for a student visa. Waiting for August 31. Waiting to hear back that I am successfully placed in all the classes I want.

So, if you’re interested, if you’re my friend (and even if you have no idea who I am) join me on this journey, I expect it’s going to be an exciting one. 

Leave a Reply

