We are 53 days out

Yesterday I made the appointment to apply for my student visa. I’m heading to Atlanta on August 5th. Other than buying luggage (the one I currently own is HUGE, too big to comfortably carry around on my own) and packing this is the last thing I really need to do to be ready to leave. 

I also recently got notification of a scholarship I was NOT expecting to receive, which means that I will NOT be taking out any loans for this trip. I don’t even know how to react to this information, because any happiness I outwardly show does not accurately describe how genuinely elated I am. I am unbelievably lucky to be able to spend this time in Greece living entirely off of scholarships and grants and money that I do not owe anyone. Everything is falling together for me in the best possible way and I could not be happier about it.

It’s getting so surreal. Sometimes I try and imagine myself hopping on a plane and galavanting around Europe for a year instead of Ole Miss and it just seems too good to be true. Then I look at my plane tickets, my class schedule, the email I JUST SENT about my pick-up time IN Thessaloniki…

this shit is happening, people. and I am fucking stoked. 

Leave a Reply

