My first day

I am absolutely in LOVE with London.

Yesterday was a crazy, crazy day. My flights went amazingly smoothly, although I slept a lot less than I had hoped and was incredibly tired the entire day. I learned how to use the Tube, fortunately it was at least 100% easier to use than I had anticipated. Seriously, I’m a Tube Master. The only trouble I had was finding my house. The street sign for my road isn’t visible from the main road, so I completely missed it the first few times I walked down the street. I ended up walking up and down the main road at least four times looking for my house. I actually found my house completely by accident. I was turning to walk away and I looked up for a split second and saw the house name in the distance. When I tell you I cried happy tears, I’m not making that shit up. The host wasn’t there when I arrived, but she came about ten minutes later and I was too happy about being able to sit down to be upset about it. After I showered and got settled in I was exhausted, but since I had already bought a day ticket for the Tube I decided to make some use of it and head to Westminster. Breath-taking does not even begin to describe that area. I’m going to go back with my camera in a few days to take better pictures. Hell, I’ll probably go back there today just to look at it again. After I got back from there and took a (well-deserved, in my opinion) nap, I went out and ate at a really fancy curry restaurant for dinner and smoked at a hookah bar. I didn’t want to be out too late my first night, so I went back to my room and curled up with my free wifi and Doctor Who. I’ve only been here for a day and I’m already head over heels in love with this place. 

Today I’m going to Camden Town. Regent’s Park is there and apparently Camden Market is “London’s most popular open-air market.” 

I’m still settling in to the idea that I’m not returning to the states until next June. It really is a little sad, but I have no doubts in my mind that this is going to be the absolute best nine months of my life.

Leave a Reply

