Windsor, Homesickness and another countdown

Today, for the last day of my London Pass, I went to Windsor Castle, where the Queen lives when she’s not out doing cool queen shit. It was incredible and extremely British.Image

Today is actually the first good day I’ve had in a good while. Homesickness has been hitting me hard, and I’ve spent a few of my days so far here just lying in bed because I didn’t have the energy to get up. I wasn’t expecting this to happen, considering how excited I was to leave and start my almost-year abroad, but I really miss my family and friends. I’m sure this is largely in part because I’m completely alone here, and once I start making friends in Greece (and have school to occupy a lot of my time) it won’t nearly be as big of an issue. This isn’t to say I don’t love London and that I’m even considering going home, I’m just still trying to get used to being away from everyone (and almost everything) I’ve known for so long. Yesterday was especially bad, I felt extremely… ungrounded, in a way, and not at all myself. But as the day went on I decided it was okay to feel like this, and that maybe this is part of what this entire experience is all about. I’ve lived in Mississippi my entire life. That’s almost the entire reason I decided to take this trip anyway. It’s comfortable and, as I’m so quickly finding out, it is an integral part of who I am. Now I’ve taken that away, however, and I guess I’m starting to figure out who I am on my own. Or, at least that’s what I’m telling myself so I don’t fly back home immediately and never leave my bed again.

Anyway, I have something else to look forward to now- I leave for Greece in six days! I’m incredibly excited about this, especially since I’m hoping it means I’m going to be able to stop being so blasted lonely all the time.

 

my flickr has been updated to include pictures from today, check it!

Leave a Reply

