A Home away from Home

The internet almost completely prohibits me from updating this blog constantly, I promise I’m doing my best here.

Image

This past weekend I took a weekend trip to Corfu, one of the Greek islands, with a group of six other study abroad students. It was beautiful, and a LOT of fun, but I feel like I need an entire week to recuperate from that trip. Friday, on our way to Corfu, I had a really weird feeling. I was actually homesick for Thess. I didn’t understand at first, and I just thought I was homesick for home, but really, the entire bus ride I could only think about how much I wanted to get back to my tiny apartment with the boilers you have to turn on and clothes racks instead of dryers and, most of all, the incredible awful internet connection (I even have an ethernet cable! give me break!). Obviously I’m happy I went, we met a lot of insane/cool people at the hostel where we stayed (The Pink Palace, Corfu, look it up) and it was nice to just hang out with just a few people from our group. But that bus ride really made me realize that I already consider Thessaloniki my second home. I feel comfortable here, I can get to the sea from my apartment and I can ALMOST use the public busses all by my self. All of my anxieties and fears about spending the next 9-ish months of my life here are completely gone. I can’t imagine how heartbroken I’ll be when I have to leave for good!

My first week of school was, well, as is to be expected. I suppose it’s a bit better in a different country, but college is college. It is nice to be able to walk outside the cafe and hang out with friends during the day while we’re waiting for class or the bus. I feel much closer with all of these people than almost everyone at Ole Miss, even though I’ve only known them for two weeks (although I can’t really speak for how they feel about me). The classes should be easy, which is excellent, considering how much other cool shit I have to do here.

I have so much more to say, but everything else deserves separate posts. For now, check the flickr and let me know if there’s anything you want me to comment on about living here (I know there are people out there reading this, wordpress tells me so. Don’t be shy).

Leave a Reply

