FOMO- or lack there of

I recently heard the term “FOMO” for the first time last weekend in Athens. For those of you who don’t know what that is (and therefore probably don’t have it, as in my case since I’m not around people enough to know), it means “fear of missing out.” This is something I seriously lack. Sure, the people I’ve met here are FAN-TASTIC. Really, I’ve had the chance to spend the past three months with some really wonderful people. But if they are really feeling going out on a Monday night, and I just want to wear sweatpants and watch Degrassi, I’m not going to feel guilty for doing what makes ME happy. Because that’s what this is all about, right? Me being happy? As long as I’m doing what I want, I don’t feel the need to be involved with what other people are doing/experiencing in fear of “missing out” on what they’re experiencing.

Anyway, I thought of this because I felt guilty for saying no to going out for the first time tonight. Probably because I’m only here with this group for 10 more days, and although I get to live in this perfect city for another four months in the spring, I’m going to be with a completely different group and I’m going to sincerely miss these people. Anyway, I’m just going to watch Orange is the New Black and see my friends tomorrow. And maybe, maybe later on this week I can step out into this freezing weather for one last night out.

maybe.

Leave a Reply

