Yeia Mas!

So I guess this is my version of goodbye. 

I’ve never been the person with a lot of friends. Before I left the States, my biggest fear was that none of you would like me. Honestly, I cannot tell you how happy I am to have been so wrong. I never could have anticipated becoming so close to so many people so fast, but I am so happy we were able to spend this time together. It’s weird to realize that we only met each other three short months ago and that now I’m about to have to adjust to not getting see you on a daily basis. I know, I know, I’M COMING BACK. And that’s fucking great, let me tell you. But you’re not.

If there’s one thing I’ve learned with you all this semester it is that life is too short to take anything too seriously. I think I’ve made it pretty obvious that I was not blessed with the gift of dance. Before I came here, you would never find me dancing, much less at a club at all. Now I can’t wait to go out and dance like I don’t give a fuck (because I don’t). So thanks, I guess, for teaching me to dance. And I guess if I have one piece of advice for you, that’s it. Never stop dancing.

Dance like nobody’s watching, even though the old men are DEFINITELY watching (but keep a close eye and a firm hand on your drink while you’re doing it).

Dance even though the song is in Greek and you have NO idea what it’s about.

Dance even though it’s 4 am and you have a final tomorrow (just don’t forget to set a second alarm).

The past three months will always have a special place in my heart. I’m sure the next group will be full of wonderful, fun people, but none of them will replace you. Don’t forget to annoy all your friends back home with ONE too many “that time I studied abroad” story.

(Except the one about Corfu. Don’t ever talk about that again.)

I hope this life brings us together again, but in the meantime…

LET’S

FUCKING

LOSE IT

P.S. I know things are getting pretty sad around Alexandrias, so have this gem I found on my phone. Hope this cheers everyone up a bit.

IMG_4615

P.P.S. I wrote the majority of this post while I was drunk a few nights ago. I knew saying goodbye would be difficult, but now that I’ve actually said my goodbyes I’m having a hard time processing that it’s actually real. You guys are amazing, really. I feel like we have all gotten so much closer the past few days, and I’m sure that’s partly due to the fact that we’re all leaving and we had taken for granted the fact that we were only together for a short time, but I think my one regret was not being this close for a longer period of time. Thank you for a semester I will never forget. Thank you, thank you, thank you. Feel free to host a lowly southerner anytime you feel like you miss me too much.

Leave a Reply

