Happy New Year, blog world!

I must say this has been one of the best year-starts to date for me. I’ve been home for about three weeks now. It’s a lot more… normal than I thought it’d be. I definitely miss a lot about Greece, but being home is really nice. Not that I’m not ready to get back to the land of frappes and odd shop hours. I definitely am. 

I guess “New Year” posts are supposed to be both reflective and whatever the opposite of that word is, so I guess I’ll do that. 2013 was by far one of the best years of my life. I don’t always think that, so I’m assuming it’s accurate. I have a great boyfriend who has been so incredibly supportive about the fact that I’m choosing to spend two semesters in Greece rather than staying here with him. And really, after doing the LDR thing for three months already, it’s really not THAT bad. At no point did I think I was doing the wrong thing by staying with him, and I don’t feel that I missed out on anything because I was dating someone back home. The main issue is balance- you have to (obviously) dedicate some of your time to your SO, which most likely means sitting in your room behind your computer screen, while not sacrificing time you could be hanging out with fellow study abroad-ers. All in all, it was easier than I expected. That being said, getting to spend the next month and a half at home is really, REALLY nice. 

I’ve learned some other things this year as well. I’ve learned that nobody really has it together. It’s comforting to think about how everything that’s going on in your own head is also most likely going through everyone else’s head, even when it looks like they really know what they’re doing. It’s like when you watch a movie, you don’t see any of the behind-the-scenes preparations. You’re producing, directing and acting in the movie that is your life, but you’re only watching everyone else’s. You don’t see the outtakes, the bloopers, the forgotten lines or the hours spent practicing in front of a mirror to get it just right. Since you have to go through all of that for your movie, you think you’re the only person struggling to give a good show, but you’re really not. I think realizing this has helped me talk to people a lot more, because if you understand that you’re not the only one going through these things, people become a lot less intimidating. 

And now, for some resolutions. These are things I’ve kind of already started doing, so I hope keeping them up won’t be an issue. I have four: 1) lose 11 pounds. Struggling with my weight and body image isn’t something I want to worry about ever again after this year. 2) learn how to play the ukelele. Last summer I practiced for hours and hours a day, and I lost all of it when I went to Greece. I don’t expect to be a “professional,” but I really enjoy playing and singing my favorite songs. 3) cross stitch more. I have been cross stitching on and off since I was a little girl. I love it and I enjoy “wasting” time on something productive rather than mindless internet browsing. 4) blog a ton. I really enjoyed reading my blog posts from earlier last (!!!!) year. It’s a great way for me to remember the things I did and how I felt while I was doing them. I also really think my writing has improved since this blog’s inception, and that’s always something I’ve wanted to work on. 

Well, that’s all I have for now. I have been spending most of my time with friends and family, so internet time is fairly limited. I guess that’s a good thing.

Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

