A Girl’s gotta EAT

I love food. More than I should, but I’m not ashamed. Oh, no. The only problem is that I can’t cook to save my life. Seriously, I can make a mean bowl of pasta and that is about it. Anyway, the reason I’m here is to make myself better, so why not become a better cook? I present to you, the Saturday Special! I’m going to pre-select a meal every Saturday, buy the ingredients from the market and then share with you how it went, good or bad. I have a feeling that some Saturdays I’m going to be ordering a gyro, but that’s OK, because this is a learning experience for me. Anyway, I know this is Tuesday, but I honestly meant to start this Saturday and my social life (ha!) got in the way.

I definitely winged it the entire way, but it turned out really good so no harm done. Here we go!

Image

Chicken with Garlic Mashed Potatoes, Bell Peppers and Spinach

There’s honestly no sense in me explaining how I cooked this, because I made it up as I went along. I knew you had to boil potatoes to mash them, but I had no idea what to do past that. This was my first attempt at mashed potatoes. They pretty much turned out like a smashed baked potato, but the only person I’m trying to impress was myself, and I’m just happy they were edible. The red bell pepper/spinach combo is something I started doing after I bought a 8/10ths of a kilo of spinach on accident for 80 cents. The chicken was good, but on the plate it looks sort of plain, don’t you think? Should I have made a sauce? Should I have cooked it a different way (I cooked it in a skillet w/ olive oil)? I don’t know. All I know is that I am pleased with myself for moving away from the pasta I had been eating nightly.

Anyway, there it is. Look for me on Saturday. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

