Back in Action

Alright, guys, it’s been a while. Spring break is swiftly approaching here in Greece and that means midterms and mid-semester projects. On top of that, Caitlin came to visit me for a week and a half before she left to go back home for good (sob), so blogging kind of got put on the back burner. Caitlin left Monday and I took my last test yesterday, so I’m back in the grind. 

 

 

Last Saturday we went to Meteora. It was BREATHTAKING. 

Image

 

Honestly, it was one of the most beautiful places I’ve ever been. We were trying to save money, so instead of taking a comfortable cab ride, we decided to hike from a town at the base of the mountain. Poor decision, trust me.

Image

please don’t kill me for posting this

Thankfully we made it. I really wasn’t sure I would for a while. It was like a baby version of Mt. Olympus but I was overdressed and wearing heeled boots. I wanted to die. 

Image

Image

We had to wear these AWESOME skirts inside the monastery

It was a long day but definitely worth it. We spent most of it traveling, but I definitely think Meteora is a must-see if you’re visiting northern Greece.

Image

 

 

Having Caitlin here meant we ate out A LOT. And, to be honest, I didn’t feel like bothering with trying to experiment with my cooking. I will definitely be making up for the two last Saturdays I missed. I started Keto a few days ago so I’m excited to start creating fun keto-friendly meals. I’ve been eating the same thing every day just to make sure I’m eating the right things, but I know I’m going to get bored of having no variety soon. Last night I did try to make zucchini noodles for the first time. It was actually pretty damn good. Not pasta, obviously, but not bad at all.

 

Image

 

I haven’t been doing much recently other than focusing on school, so that’s about it for now. Spring break is next week, hopefully I’ll get out of my room a few days out of the next month (I don’t have to worry about school again until May!). I’ll let you know how my diet is going later, I’m feeling pretty laggy right now, but I’ve read that that’s normal for a few days in.

5 thoughts on “Back in Action

  1. V-Light

    I’m ashamed to say that i’ve been living for almost 30 years in Greece and have never been to Meteora…It must be an amazing place to visit and take photos! Was it expensive to go there from Thessaloniki? And what’s the thing with the skirts? Hahaha 😛

    Reply
    1. Kris Post author

      You have to go!! I ended up spending around €40 for the day. The bus was only €30 round trip. I bought a souvenir and entrance to one of the monasteries and brought sandwiches with me so I wouldn’t have to buy food there. I think the hotels around the area are cheap too, around 12 a night. The skirts are a respect/decency thing I think. There are some monasteries that women can’t enter and the ones that allow women require skirts.

      Reply
      1. V-Light

        Thanks for the info 🙂 I had no idea the bus was so cheap…If i could find a cheap hotel to spend a few nights there, then it would certainly be worth visiting 🙂

  2. Katherine

    I was in Thessaloniki last summer with my brother, and we planned to take a day trip to Meteora. Thanks to the bus & train schedule online not at all matching the actual schedule, we didn’t get to go 😦 So now I have no choice but to return to Greece! Incidentally, the two times we randomly decided to do long hikes, I happened to be wearing a full length skirt. It sucked.

    Reply
    1. Kris Post author

      I was worried our bus times wouldn’t be right either, but this is Greece. Assuming they’ll all be 15-30 minutes late usually helps me not stress out so much, ha! You really do need to go! It’s amazingly beautiful. A few people from my study abroad group went last week and they said the walk wasn’t so bad, but I didn’t know at that time that they actually got dropped off where the monasteries were, while we had to walk from the bottom. It was pretty miserable, but we saved the cab money and it was definitely worth it overall.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

