Saturday Special: Living Low-Carb

Trying to cook with-in Keto has brought its own slew of challenges for me on top of being in the process of actually learning to cook in general. This past week got a bit a lot a little repetitive, so today, as per the norm on Saturdays, I broke out of my keto-confort zone and tried some new things. For breakfast, I used this recipe for cream cheese pancakes. I also bought an Atkins chocolate bar, which I melted and added to heavy cream to make chocolate whipped cream. Unfortunately, as with my other pancake endeavor, they ended up more like pancake mash and the whipped cream wasn’t very whipped at all, but that was because I got bored and my pancakes were getting cold. Again, I can’t complain because they tasted great, but the actually pancake-creation is going to take some intense practice.

Dinner turned out a bit better. I am sorry to say I am partially a recipe repeater. I made the same salmon from a few weeks ago. But I did use this recipe for zucchini pizza bites, and I can safely say that dinner was overall a huge success. This meal was around 5.50 euros. I already had everything except for the salmon. Let me just say it tasted just as good as it looked.

Image

 

Right now, the only aspect of my life in which I am actually feeling keto is my budget. I spent almost double what I normally spend on groceries this week. A lot of that has to do with the pancakes I made, since I didn’t have hardly any of those ingredients on hand, but it was still a little off-putting. Those will definitely be a “once in a  while” treat. The only reason I made them today was as an in-diet reward for resisting pizza, calzones and everything in my favorite bakery in Thessaloniki (Terkenlis!) yesterday. I can’t remember a time that I was more proud of myself. I am not one to turn down cookies when they are sitting right in front of me. It wasn’t easy, but I’m hoping that each time I face temptation it will get easier. We’ll see. 

This semester has been, at times, terrifyingly lonely. With my inability to connect with this group of study abroads and my complete determination to stick to a pretty strict budget, I don’t get out much. Sometimes it bothers me, but I know that it’s a choice I have made (I in no way think my lack of interacting with my group has anything to do with them. They’re great people. It’s really all on me.). I don’t normally have a problem being alone, but it has been hitting me pretty hard this last month or so. There is a silver lining, however. I have started doing a lot of “self-improvement.” It started with cooking, but I spend most of my day doing things that make me better. I play my ukulele a lot during the day, I workout nearly 6 days a week and in general I am just taking care of myself more. Sometimes I think I’d rather be home, but being here this semester has really helped me work on myself, and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. The independence that comes from having nearly all my time to myself allows me to make me the person I want to be. I wouldn’t have had this opportunity back home. And I’m hoping that I will get into a routine here that I will be able to carry with me back to the United States. 

That’s about it in my life. I am very seriously considering octopus sometime next week with one of my friends (I know I just spent a paragraph talking about how I never see anyone, but that’s not ENTIRELY true ALL of the time. I do have a teensy, tiny bit of a life.). Hopefully that happens. Octopus has been my ultimate goal for this entire semester.

Leave a Reply

