For the Love of Books!

What I’m reading now:

9912994

Damned, by Chuck Palahniuk

Chuck Palahniuk is by far my favorite author. I have his Invisible Monsters book cover tattooed on the inside of my left arm. His books always have a way of making me change, or at least reexamine, how I view and life my life. He writes in a way that makes you unsure of everything you believe to be true. For a long while there, I snapped up each of his books as he wrote them, but I got behind after Pygmy and am just now catching up. Damned, first off, is great so far. To my disappointment, it’s a lot tamer than his earlier works I know and love. It still has his distinct style and that alternative, kind of uncomfortable charm that I love so much, but this book is quite, diluted, I guess, in comparison to some of his others. Luckily, that is my only complaint about this book. It’s funny, it’s sassy, and absolutely beautiful in that “This is going to piss a lot of people off and I don’t care” kind of way. I’m almost finished, and I have read enough to know that I have no idea how this book is going to end and I can’t wait to be completely blown away. I have the sequel on my computer, so hopefully I’ll get around to reading that soon as well.

What I’m reading next:

iyengar-yoga-sutras

The Core of the Yoga Sutras

Okay, I might not actually be reading this next because I have to wait until my anniversary (MY ANNIVERSARY) with Sam to get it, but I wanted to talk about it because I am SO EXCITED about it! I am trying hard to rekindle my relationship with yoga, because I know it will make me feel so much better about pretty much everything. So I’m asking for this and Kino’s book on Ashtanga yoga for my anniversary gift. I’m going to try to approach yoga completely this time instead of just going through postures like I normally do. I’ve done a lot of blog-reading lately (Daily Cup of Yoga is my current obsession) and, at least right now, this is what I want to focus my energy on. So there’s that. More on my yoga happenings later.

Leave a Reply

